How to run python interface

Hi Guys,

Desclimer :wink: : I am new to SOFiSTik, and advace python development.
Now I am learning by doing stuff. Now coming to my question.

Can some one explain in simple terms (not like the documentation) how to setup a python project for sofistik !

I followed the instructions and code samples available in the Connect to CDB — CDB Interfaces 2020 and Read the node properties — CDB Interfaces 2020, I ended up with an error (below)

Firstly, would the code be run and debug by any python IDEs (like Jupiter, VSCode, which I used)? if not, How can I set up the project and run?

I am working on small tool for Revit, where I need to read data from CDB and do some manipulations. I did develop a Dynamo script for my task using Excel (output from sofistik), Now planning to read directly from CDB instead of relying on Excel.

So your help would be much appreciated

@sfr and @MoShMet , I have read your replies and posts, So I felt like tagging you can help me get answer :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks in advance!
Kuladeep K

missing CNODE and cnode objects can be found in c:/Program Files/SOFiSTiK/2022/SOFiSTiK 2022/interfaces/examples/python/sofistik_daten.py (or similar). there is class CNODE and it instance cnode. the describtion can be found in c:/Program Files/SOFiSTiK/2022/SOFiSTiK 2022/cdbase.chm chapter SOFiSTiK Data -> (20-29) Nodes -> (20) Nodes -> @Rec: 020/00.

1 Like
  • IDE: You can use whichever IDE you want.
    However you need access to the necessary files in the sofistik installation folder, so an online Jupyter notebook might require some extra work (drag and dropping files into it)
  • You need all the libraries and structures in order to read from the cdb, that means your script needs access to:
    -The sofistik folder (for sof_cdb_w-xx.dll - library for sofistik functions)
    -The sofistik_daten file (for the necessary data structures as @asiloisad mentioned)
1 Like

Thanks, @asiloisad @sfr for your input.